ECAC Hockey Unveils All-Decade Team

ECAC Hockey Unveils All-Decade Team

ALBANY, N.Y. -- ECAC Hockey today announced its men’s All-Decade Team made up of former student-athletes from nine different schools.  Cornell leads the way with three former alumni on the two teams, followed by Harvard and St. Lawrence with two former players each represented on the 13 player list.  A committee made up of coaches, media members, and league administrators selected the group recognizing distinguished play of student-athletes in the league from the 1999-2000 season thru the 2008-09 season. 

Standout Brown goaltender Yann Danis was selected the goaltender of the All-Decade Team.  In a breakthrough 2003–04 campaign the netminder from St. Jerome, QC, posted a 15–11–4 record along with a 1.81 goals-against average and .942 save percentage that ranked third and second in the nation, respectively.  On the strength of those numbers and a season that helped lead Brown to its best ECAC Hockey finish since 1995, Danis ended the year under a shower of accolades, earning First Team All-American honors, First-Team All-America honors, All-USCHO First-Team honors, New England Hockey Writers Association All-Star honors, and a spot on the All-ECAC Hockey’s first-team.  In addition, he was named the 2004 ECAC Hockey Player and Goaltender of the Year and the USCHO Defensive Player of the Year.  As his team rolled through the season, Danis set ECAC Hockey records for single-season save percentage (.948) and career shutouts (13), and tied Kevin McCabe ('77) for the most career wins by a Bears goaltender with 43.
Leading the defense is defenseman Cornell’s Doug Murray.  The former Swedish born student-athlete received many accolades while donning the Big Red jersey.  Murray was a two-time first-team All-American, a two-time first-team ECAC???Hockey selection, and a finalist for the 2002 for the Hobey Baker Award.  Playing in 127 games for Cornell, Murray recorded 24 goals and added 60 assists.

Joining Murray on the blueline is Harvard standout Noah Welch.  The Brighton, MA native was a first-team All-American as a senior in 2004-05 and a second-team pick in 2003-04.  Welch earned first-team all-ECAC Hockey honors in 2004-05 and second-team honors in 2003-04 as well.  He registered 76 points on 23 goals and 53 assists in 129 career games.  The former Crimson captain played on two ECAC???Hockey title-winning teams (2002, 2004) and two ECAC???Hockey runners-up teams (2003, 2005).

The talented list of forwards on the All-Decade’s first-team includes Jeff Hamilton of Yale.  The all-time scoring leader for the Bulldogs netted 80 goals and added 93 helpers for 173 points in 127 games for the Elis.  Hamilton was a two-time Hobey Baker Award finalists and a three-time first-team all-ECAC???Hockey selection. 

Joining Hamilton at the forward position is Lee Stempniak from Dartmouth.  The Big Green’s scoring leader for three consecutive years, Stempniak racked up over 35 points in all three seasons while leading Dartmouth’s offense.  The former first-team All-American (2003-04) ranks ninth on the Big Green’s career goal scoring chart with 63, third all-time in the assists with 88, and fourth in overall career scoring with 151.  The team captain was also named Dartmouth’s MVP???for three years in a row and was the ECAC???Hockey’s top scorer in the 2004-05 season.

The final forward on the first-team All-Decade squad is T.J. Trevelyan from St. Lawrence.  Known as a prolific scorer during his time in Canton, Trevelyan netted 78 goals (5th-all-time at St. Lawrence) and added 76 assists for 154 career points.  He was a former Hobey Baker Award finalist and a two-time first-team all-league member in 2005 and 2006, as well as being named the ECAC Hockey Player of the Year in 2006. 

The second-team All-Decade Team was led by netminder David LeNeveu who guided the Cornell Big Red to a Frozen Four (2003) after the team topped the national polls all year long.  He set a Cornell record for shutouts that year, topping legendary goalie Ken Dryden. 

Joining LeNeveu on the second-team are a trio of defensemen Kent Huskins, Clarkson, Reid Cashman, Quinnipiac, and Drew Bagnall, St. Lawrence.  Huskins, a former Green and Gold standout, enjoyed a stellar 2001 season, where he won the league’s Best Defensive Defenseman Award, and was named both an All-American and a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award.  Cashman was a three-time All-American at Quinnipiac, who holds the Bobcats record for career assists with 125.  Bagnall was the ECAC???Hockey’s Player of the Year in 2007, who amassed 73 points during his career in Canton.

Andy McDonald, Colgate, Dominic Moore, Harvard, and Matt Moulson from Cornell each earned second-team All-Decade honors.  McDonald is a former ECAC???Hockey Player of the Year, who accumulated 155 points (67g-88a) in 137 games for the Raiders.  Moore, a former Crimson captain, was selected as a first-team All-American in 2002-03 and ranks 11th all-time on the Harvard career points list with 147.  Moulson finished his career at Cornell with 138 points on 71 goals and 67 assists.  He was twice named to the NCAA???regional tournament team in both 2004 and 2005.

Forward  Jeff Hamilton, Yale (1996-2001)
Forward  Lee Stempniak, Dartmouth (2001-2005)
Forward  T.J. Trevelyan, St. Lawrence (2002-2006)
Defense  Doug Murray, Cornell (1999-2003)
Defense  Noah Welch, Harvard (2001-2005)
Goaltender Yann Danis, Brown (1999-2004)

Forward  Andy McDonald, Colgate (1996-2000)
Forward  Dominic Moore, Harvard (1999-2003)
Forward  Matt Moulson, Cornell (2002-2006)
Defense  Drew Bagnall, St. Lawrence (2003-2007)
Defense  Reid Cashman, Quinnipiac (2003-2007)
Defense  Kent Huskins, Clarkson (1997-2001)
Goaltender David LeNeveu, Cornell (2001-2003)

(click here to view complete release in PDF format)